





A History of our Celebration

Karen J. Thorpe, Ph.D., then-Assistant Vice President of Student Affairs, initiated the annual Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Peace Breakfast on Jan. 15, 1992. At the first MLK Peace Breakfast about 50 people from the campus and Denver community gathered in the old Student Union (now Plaza Building) to celebrate Dr. King's life and legacy. The Office of Diversity and Inclusion now serves as the official sponsor.

Committee

Michael Benitez, Ph.D.

Kathleen Jewby

Donelyn Jones

Lisa Kirscht, J.D.

Kiran Majid

Douglas Mpondi, Ph.D.

Cory Phare

Julie Sharer-Price

Tisha Townsend

Jeremy VanHooser

Kimberly Williams

Lorri Wray

Spirit of MLK Drive

Thank you for attending the 2021 MLK Peace Breakfast! Although our event is remote this year, we seek to honor Dr. King's legacy by maintaining the spirit of our service drive that has been an important part of the event each year. To this end, we are asking everyone to support MSU Denver's Student Emergency Fund in lieu of purchasing tickets to attend the breakfast and event this year.

Perhaps more than ever before, our students are in need of support that is offered through this fund to help them overcome challenges that might otherwise cause them to stop or pause their educational goals. Your donations will also support one of MSU Denver's core values – access, which is a value that was reflected through Dr. King' mission of equality for all.

Please <u>donate here</u> (engage.msudenver.edu/giving/stl05) and enter "2021 MLK Peace Breakfast" in the comments box.

Event Program

Welcome and Land Acknowledgement

Amber Mozet

MSU Denver Alumni Association Board Member

Invocation

Pastor Anitha Jones
Co-Pastor, For His Glory Christian Fellowship

Welcome Remarks

Janine Davidson, Ph.D. President, MSU Denver

Keynote

Melinna Abdullah, Ph.D. Professor, Pan-African Studies California State University, Los Angeles

Awardees

Vincent Cervantes
Founder and Organizing Director,
Denver Allience Street Health Response

Chalane Lechuga, Ph.D. Associate Professor Chicana/o Studies and Diversity Faculty Fellow

Alejandra Merjil Alumnus, MSU Denver

We Shall Overcome
MSU Denver, Department of Music









Chalane Lechuga, Ph.D.

As a Chicana/o Studies sociologist, Associate Professor Chalane Lechuga, Ph.D., uses inclusive and critical pedagogy to reveal and teach the multiplicity of intersectional Latina/o identities, examining the effect of public policy, and educational practices, situated in a historical flashpoint of civil rights and social justice actions. She advocates for the recruitment and retention of underrepresented faculty in higher education as Diversity Faculty Fellow with the Office of Diversity and Inclusion

Born and raised in Denver, Colorado and an alumna of Denver North High School, she continues to engage in teaching, scholarly activity and service that emanates from her lived experiences.

Alejandra Merjil

Alejandra Merjil is heavily involved in higher education access for all students regardless of immigration status, as well as an advocate for healthcare for all. She is a DACA student and have been leader of various student organizations that serves DACA/ Undocumented students both high school and in higher education. Alejandra served as the president of the Student Nurses' Association at MSU Denver, president of RISE, secretary for the United Leaders in Higher Education, and president for the DREAMers United at CCD. She have received the Cesar Chavez Peace and Leadership Justice Award and organized state-wide conferences for educators and students in higher education regardless of immigration status.

Vincent Cervantes

Vinnie Cervantes is a lifelong Colorado resident and MSU Denver graduate. As Director for Denver Alliance for Street Health Response (DASHR), he has worked to create alternatives to policing and jail. He serves on the boards for The Conflict Center, which provides tools for conflict resolution and Colorado Jobs With Justice, which works to expand workers' rights. Vinnie was previously chair of the Colorado Poor People's Campaign, the revived movement that MLK started in 1968. Through involvement in politics, organizing, and activism, Vinnie has worked to create justice in the areas of homelessness, hunger, workers' rights, education, and criminal justice.

Past Awardees

2020

Rosemarie Allen, Ed.D. Khadijatu Fofanah Eneri "Netty" Rodriguez Women of Color Founders -Cynthia Baron, Ed.D Andrea Borrego, Ph.D. Bridgette Coble, Ph.D. Hsiu-Ping Liu, Ph.D.

2019

Wilton Flemon Ph.D. Robecca Hunter Dobbin Rev. Tammy Garrett-Williams Verginia Castro

2018

Kathryn Young, Ph.D. Pastor Anitha Jones

2017

Aaron Brown, Ph.D. Madison Holloway, Ph.D. Stephen M. Jordan, Ph.D. Maria Rangel Leon Renee Fajardo

2016

Sandra Haynes, Ph.D. Althea Redd Aaron Futrell

2015

Arthur Jones, Ph.D. Katherine Miller Zachary Berger

2014

Jennine Jeffries Alton Clark Rudy Gonzales

2013

Ramon Del Castillo, Ph.D. Mary Hanewall Mahdyeh Hosseini Nowkhandan

2012

Candace Johnson Lisa Ingarfield Bennie Williams

2011

Opalanga Pugh Aaron Smith Mary Ann Watson, Ph.D. Gerie Grimes

2010

Marziya Kaka Gloria J. Burns John Parvensky Leon Kelly Annjanette Alejano-Steele, Ph.D.

2009

Lavanda Conner Savannah Powell Lucas Shamala, Ph.D. Cleo Parker Robinson

2008

Phyllis Bigpond Vern Howard Larry Johnson, Ph.D. Wayne Marshall

2007

Lupe Martinez, Ph.D. Win Naing The Rev. James Peters

2006

Nick Delmonico Erin Durban Anthony J. Garcia Ruth Yamauchi

2005

Jacquelyn Benton Nita Gonzales James "Justice" Jackson

2004

Art Campa, Ph.D. Mildred Freeney-Hilton Ronald M. Knights, Ph.D. Angelo Van Fleet

2003

Erika Church Brother Jeff Fard Luis Torres, Ph.D.

2002

Skip Crownhart Bill Hosokawa Hektor Munoz

2001

Pauline Reece

2000

Addison "Spike" Adams Brenda Mosby

1999

Fannie Fiddmont, Ph.D. Grizel Gonzales Gayle Johnson Percy A. Morehouse Jr, Ph.D.

1998

Walter R. Echo-hawk Teresa Harper Robert Hazan, Ph.D.

1997

Abelardo "Lalo" Delgado Yolanda Ortega-Ericksen Mark Ramsey Gwendolyn Thomas, Ph.D.

1996

Essie Garrett The Rev. Marshall Gourley Alfonso Suazo Tara Tull

1995

Margie Ball Cook Ph.D. The Rev. Clyde J. Miller Thomas Rauch Megan Reyes

1994

Glenn Morris, Ph.D. Joe Navarro Arthur & Bea Sutton Branscombe Akbarali Thobhani, Ph.D.

1993

Jody Andrade Vincent & Rosemary Harding C.J. White, Ph.D.

1992

Rodolfo "Corky" Gonzales Wilma J. Webb

Special Thanks

Office of Diversity and Inclusion, Met Media Creative Team, MSU Denver Music Department, David Sharman, and Amanda Schwengel